Gary Burton – Something’s Coming! / The Groovy Sound Of Music / The Time Machine

Double CD – £9.99
Catalog No. BGOCD1241
Something’s Coming! / The Groovy Sound Of Music / The Time Machine by Gary Burton
  • From 1964, 1965 and 1966 come vibraphonist Gary Burton’s earlier works
  • ‘Something’s Coming!’ is a mixture of originals by Mike Gibbs and covers which include Burton’s interpretations of material by Rodgers and Hart and Richard Sondheim
  • ‘The Groovy Sound Of Music’ is eight of the numbers from the stage show The Sound Of Music featuring songs such as ‘Maria’ and ‘Climb Ev’ry Mountain’
  • ‘The Time Machine’ features original material by Mike Gibbs and Burton with covers of ‘Norwegian Wood’ and ‘My Funny Valentine’
  • Digitally remastered and slipcased
  • Extensive new notes


Disc One

  1. Something’s Coming!:
  2. On Green Dolphin Street
  3. Melanie
  4. Careful
  5. Six Improvisatory Sketches
  6. Something’s Coming
  7. Little Girl Blue
  8. Summertime


The Groovy Sound Of Music:

  1. Climb Ev´ry Mountain
  2. Maria
  3. An Ordinary Couple
  4. My Favorite Things
  5. Sixteen Going On Seventeen
  6. Do-Re-Mi
  7. Edelweiss
  8. The Sound Of Music


Disc Two

The Time Machine:

  1. The Sunset Bell
  2. Six-Nix, Quix, Flix
  3. Interim I
  4. Chega De Saudade (No More Blues)
  5. Childhood
  6. Deluge
  7. Norwegian Wood
  8. Interim II
  9. Falling Grace
  10. My Funny Valentine

More music from Gary Burton:

  1. Lofty Fake Anagram/A Genuine Tong Funeral – Gary Burton
  2. Duster  / Country Roads & Other Places – Gary Burton