Hour Glass – The Hour Glass

Single CD – £9.99
Catalog No. BGOCD536
The Hour Glass by Hour Glass
Now released on 1 CD, this (originally a double) LP was compiled at United Artists in response to the many requests from fans for early material by Duane and Greg Allman of the Allman Brothers fame. The original two record set was assembled in exactly the same sequence as the original albums were presented. The Hour Glass were put together in Decateur, Alabama. As well as Duane and Greg the band included Jessie William Carr, Paul Hornsby, Mabron McKinney, and John Sandlin. Unfortunately the band was dogged with problems, which led them to split up after not long together. This collection does however provide a fascinating insight into the early career of Duane and Greg Allman. Original sleevenote written by Neil Young


  1. 1. Out Of The Night (H. Moore/R. Welch) 2. Nothing But Tears (B. Scott/J. Radcliffe) 3. Love Makes The World Go 'Round (D. Jackson) 4. Cast Off All My Fears (J. Browne) 5. I've Been Trying (C. Mayfield) 6. No Easy Way Down (G. Goffin/C. King) 7. Heartbeat (E. Cobb) 8. So Much Love (G. Goffin/C. King) 9. Got To Get Away (G. Allman) 10. Silently (D. Shannon/D. Burgoise) 11. Bells (P. Alin) 12. Power Of Love (D. Penn/L. Oldham) 13. Changing Of The Guard (G. Allman) 14. To Things Before (G. Allman) 15. I'm Not Afraid (G. Allman) 16. I Can Stand Alone (G. Allman) 17. Down In Texas (E. Hinton/M. Greene) 18. I Still Want Your Love (G. Allman) 19. Home For The Summer (E. Hinton/M. Greene) 20. I'm Hanging Up My Heart For You (D. Covay/J. Berry) 21. Going Nowhere (G. Allman) 22. Norweigan Wood (This Bird Has Flown) (J. Lennon/P. McCartney) 23. Now Is The Time (G. Allman)