New Riders Of The Purple Sage – NRPS / Powerglide

Double CD – £9.99
Catalog No. BGOCD551
NRPS / Powerglide by New Riders Of The Purple Sage (1971 / 72)
  • This 2 on 1 CD features the band's eponymous debut album from the second half of 1971, originally released on the Columbia/CBS label, which was an above-average hit ' it peaked inside the Top 40 of the US album charts, where it remained for over 3 months. Here, it is coupled with their second album which was released in mid-1972, and which performed as well as the first LP, spending over four months in the US Top 40
  • 'N.R.P.S.' features the giant talent of Jerry Garcia from The Grateful Dead
  • The story goes that circa 1969, Jerry Garcia had acquired a pedal steel guitar which was not really appropriate for use in The Grateful Dead. As a result, he needed a group in which he could play his new instrument, and starting rehearsing/formally working with Dave Nelson and John Marmaduke Dawson whom he had met in the early 60s when they were members of bluegrass bands in the Bay Area. Before long, two of Garcia's Grateful Dead colleagues (drummer Mickey Hart and bassist Phil Lesh) had become the rhythm section of the new band, which inevitably attracted attention amongst 'Deadheads', especially when Grateful Dead concerts involved The New Riders as the opening act
  • Only Garcia was still a member of NRPS when they signed to Columbia/CBS. The replacement for Hart was the equally celebrated drummer Spencer Dryden, who had joined Jefferson Airplane on their breakthrough second album, 'Surrealistic Pillow' - the first to feature vocalist Grace Slick. The new bass player was Dave Torbert, with whom both Dawson and Nelson had worked with in the New Delhi River Band.


  1. N.R.P.S.:
    1. I Don't Know You 2. Whatcha Gonna Do 3. Portland Woman 4. Henry 5. Dirty Business 6. Glendale Train 7. Garden Of Eden 8. All I Ever Wanted 9. Last Lonely Eagle 10. Louisiana Lady

    11. Dim Lights, Thick Smoke 12. Rainbow 13. California Day 14. Sweet Lovin' One 15. Lochinvar 16. I Don't Need No Doctor 17. Contract 18. Runnin' Back To You 19. Hello Mary Lou 20. Duncan And Brady 21. Willie And The Hand Jive

More music from New Riders Of The Purple Sage:

  1. Oh What A Mighty Time – New Riders Of The Purple Sage
    Oh What A Mighty Time
    Single CD BGOCD781
  2. Gypsy Cowboy/The Adventures Of Panama Red – New Riders Of The Purple Sage
  3. Home On The Road/Brujo – New Riders Of The Purple Sage
    Home On The Road/Brujo
    2 on 1 CD BGOCD632