Nucleus – Labyrinth/Roots

Double CD Set – £9.99
Catalog No. BGOCD567
Labyrinth/Roots by Nucleus (1973)
  • This is the second in our recent reissue programme of Ian Carr and Nucleus material which has been exceptionally well received
  • Both LPs originally appeared in 1973 and are now being released by BGO as a double CD with the express wish by Ian that we do so
  • Full sleevenotes by noted author and broadcaster Alyn Shipton, who is also Ian’s biographer
  • Lineups on the albums are: ‘Labyrinth’– Ian Carr, Kenny Wheeler, Brian Smith, Tony Levin, Roy Babbington, Clive Thacker, Tony Coe, Gordon Beck, Norma Winstone, Dave MacRae and Trevor Tomkins; ‘Roots’– Ian Carr, Brian Smith, Dave MacRae, Jocelyn Pitchen, Roger Sutton, Clive Thacker, Aureo de Souza and Joy Yates
  • Trumpeter, composer, author, educator and broadcaster Ian Carr is a major force in British jazz and since 1970 has been one of Europe’s leading musicians. In 1969 he formed Nucleus, one of the earliest pioneers of electronic jazz-rock fusion, and their early albums had a wide seminal influence in Europe. Nucleus won first prize at the 1970 Montreaux International Jazz Festival and appeared that summer at the USA Newport Festival and the Village Gate, New York. In 1982, Ian received the Calabria (Southern Italy) award for outstanding contribution in the field of jazz, and in 1987 he was given Wire magazine’s special award for services to British Jazz. In recent years, Ian has become almost as well known as an author; his 1982 book on Miles Davis remains the standard biography. He is now an associate Professor at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama where he gives weekly lectures on jazz history


  1. Labyrinth:

    Origins • Bull-Dance • Ariadne • Arena • Arena • Exultation • Naxos


    Roots • Images • Caliban • Whapatiti • Capricorn • Odokamona • Southern Roots And Celebration

More music from Nucleus:

  1. Elastic Rock/We'll Talk About It Later – Nucleus
  2. Solar Plexus/Belladonna – Nucleus
    Solar Plexus/Belladonna
    Double CD Set BGOCD566
  3. Under The Sun/Snakehips Etcetera – Nucleus
    Under The Sun/Snakehips Etcetera
    Double CD Set BGOCD568
  4. Alleycat/Direct Hits – Nucleus
    Alleycat/Direct Hits
    Double CD Set BGOCD565