Earl Scruggs – Anniversary Special: Volume One/Volume Two

2 on 1 CD – £9.99
Catalog No. BGOCD830
Anniversary Special: Volume One/Volume Two  by Earl Scruggs
  • Originally released in 1975 and 1976 on the CBS record label. Everybody who is anybody is guesting; as well as Earl and the boys, musicians include Roger McGuinn, Billy Joel, Johnny Cash, Leonard Cohen, Joan Baez, Dan Fogelberg, Jim Messina, Kenny Loggins and countless others. Produced by Bob 'Highway 61 Revisited' Johnston, who has worked with Elvis, Dylan and Simon & Garfunkel on the majority of their landmark recordings.
  • Earl Scruggs was born 6 January 1924 in Cleveland County, North Carolina. He learned to play banjo from the age of five, and in 1944 joined Bill Monroe's Bluegrass Boys, where he perfected his threefinger banjo technique. He later left with fellow member Lester Flatt to form the Foggy Mountain Boys in 1948. They enjoyed a long career spanning 20 years, and became synonymous with their recordings of 'Foggy Mountain Breakdown' (used in the film Bonnie And Clyde) and 'The Ballad Of Jed Clampett', which was the theme tune for the tv series The Beverly Hillbillies.
  • In 1969, after Flatt and Scruggs parted company, the Earl Scruggs Revue was formed featuring Earl (banjo, vocals) and his sons – Randy (lead guitar, slide guitar, bass, vocals), Gary (bass, harmonica, vocals), Steve (guitar) – plus Josh Graves (dobro, guitar, vocals) and Jody Maphis (drums, vocals).


  1. Anniversary Special – Volume One: Banjo Man
  2. The Swimming Song
  3. Gospel Ship
  4. Bleeker Street Rag
  5. Royal Majesty
  6. Rollin' In My Dreams
  7. Song To Woody
  8. Third Rate Romance
  9. Hey Porter
  10. Passing Through

    Volume Two: Rita Ballou
  11. Harbour For My Soul
  12. I've Got A Thing About You Baby
  13. Instrumental In D Major
  14. Every Man Has Got His Own Price
  15. Harley - Broad River
  16. Fairytale
  17. I Still Miss Someone
  18. Someday My Ship Will Sail