Rick Roberts – Windmills/She Is A Song

2 on 1 CD – £9.99
Catalog No. BGOCD878
Windmills/She Is A Song by Rick Roberts
  • The album’s supporting cast and guests include Bernie Leadon, Don Henley, Jackson Browne, Rusty Young, Chris Hillman, David Crosby, Al Perkins, Dallas Taylor, Byron Berline, Joe Lala, Paul Harris and Joe Walsh
  • Rick was a member of the chart-successful Firefall and played with Emmylou Harris and The Fallen Angels
  • Rick Roberts was born in Florida, later moving to Washington D.C., South Carolina and Colorado, where he performed in clubs. At 19, he hitchhiked to LA and after a year of knocking on doors, came to the attention of Ed Tickner, at that time manager of the Flying Burrito Brothers. Tickner introduced Roberts to the Burritos, who had been working as a four-piece since the departure of Gram Parsons. Rick had sung (unaccredited) on The Byrds’ ‘Untitled’ LP earlier that same year. With Roberts in the Burritos, they recorded their albums ‘The Flying Burrito Bros.’ (June 1971), and ‘Last Of The Red Hot Burritos’ (February 1972)
  • After a tour of Europe with the Burritos, Roberts then embarked on a solo career, releasing the albums ‘Windmills’ (1972) and ‘She Is A Song’ (1973). ‘She Is A Song’ was produced by Chris Hillman and Rick’s songs were published by Stephen Stills’ publishing company. Reviewers at the time commented on Hillman’s “cool” original production style and how the songs jumped off the vinyl and grabbed you


  1. Windmills: Deliver Me
  2. Davy Mcvie
  3. In My Own Small Way
  4. Sail Away
  5. Two Lovely Women
  6. In A Dream
  7. Drunk And Dirty
  8. Pick Me Up On Your Way Down
  9. Jenny’s Blues

    She Is A Song: West Wind
  10. She Is A Song
  11. Lights
  12. Four Days Gone
  13. Company
  14. Sweet Maria
  15. The Captain
  16. She Made Me Lose My Blues
  17. Old Songs
  18. Glad To Be Goin’